Sign in to follow this  
learn-by-flying

Questions for the X-Plane Guru's

First off, I have been eyeing x-plane for a while. What has me intrigued into jumping over is the LES Saab 340, I really enjoy medium to long prop job routes. I have a few questions before I make the investment into a new sim. My current sim setup is as follows:

-Prepar3d v1.4

-AS2012 textures and Wx engine

-FSX freeware airports

-FSFT KFLL

Being a commercial pilot, I really am looking for the best experience possible. Which is why I have a few questions regarding how X-plane operates.

-How does X-Plane handle weather generation? Is it true weather or just textures placed around the aircraft like P3D?

-Besides aircraft, what are the must have 3rd party addons currently?

-Whats the typical size of you XP installation? I currently have P3D on a 7200rpm drive but I am looking into SSD options.

-Anyone or anywhere I can get an update to how the LES 340 is doing?

-In terms of airport ground handling, are there addon's like GSX?

Thanks so much for taking the time to answer,

Tom

"I just wanna tell you both: good luck. We're all counting on you."

-In terms of airport ground handling, are there addon's like GSX?

some Payware airports/planes(Truscenery, A320neo, 777 Worldliner, etc.) come with ground crew traffic but Aerosoft is working on an AES version..not confirmed yet.

http://forums.x-plane.org/index.php?showtopic=68264&page=1

Moving vehicles and people (using ground traffic by Marginal)

AES is a money pit, I'd rather see GSX for XP appear or use Joan's ground services than give Aerosoft a blank cheque to charge me for every airport.

-How does X-Plane handle weather generation? Is it true weather or just textures placed around the aircraft like P3D?