Sign in to follow this  
moey124

ils approach do I press loc or app on mcp

Wel I clicked loc and the plane turned to the runway and when should I click app or loc is the same &@($* app on mcp. Cause my plane wasnt descending.

Wel I clicked loc and the plane turned to the runway and when should I click app or loc is the same &@($* app on mcp. Cause my plane wasnt descending.

I'm only a novice but on an ILS approach I think you just need to press APP to pickup the glideslope. I am not pressing the LOC button at all. APP seems to capture both the localiser and glideslope.

Usually you would capture the localizer first, and then the gs. So 1st hit LOC and then APP after

ASUS ROG Maximus Hero XII ▪︎ Intel i9-10900K ▪︎ NVIDIA RTX 3090 FE ▪︎ 64GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro ▪︎ Windows 10 Pro (21H1) ▪︎ Samsung 970 EVO Pro 1TB NVME SSD (OS Drive) ▪︎ Samsung 860 EVO 2TB SATA SSD ▪︎ Seagate 4TB SATA HDD ▪︎ Corsair RMx 850W PSU

I'm only a novice but on an ILS approach I think you just need to press APP to pickup the glideslope. I am not pressing the LOC button at all. APP seems to capture both the localiser and glideslope.

Not all approaches are full ILS approach. There are some that are localizer only approaches, which is where the LOC button also comes in handy.

Captain Kevin

nGsKmfi.jpg

Air Kevin 124 heavy, wind calm, runway 4 left, cleared for take-off.

Live streams of my flights here.

But how do u know when u entrred the glidescope cause I hit loc and it truned to rjnway after passing one more star on the display I hit app but it didnt desend

LOC will follow the Localizer.