Hi all,

I am a RW private pilot and currently use FS9 for both GA flying/ IFR practice and the occasional for fun airliner flight, however I will be purchasing a new PC and most likely transitioning to P3D very soon.  I have always used 1 monitor for flight sim but find that when trying to fly a simple traffic pattern (i.e. VFR or on a circle-to-land IFR approach), switching back and forth between front and side views on a single monitor to maintain airport / runway positional awareness and aircraft control can be difficult. 

At this point I do not wish to invest in TrackIR, but would rather try and solve this issue with an additional monitor or two (preferably one).  My thought is to purchase a 23" - 24" main monitor and and use a spare 19" for the side view when desired and / or to show a particular instrument or display, i.e. GPS, etc. 

I would appreciate any information regarding whether I can relatively easily utilize two monitors in the manner described above, or if not, suggestions on how I can accomplish same.  Almost forgot to mention that in the new PC build I will most likely select a 3GB Nvidia 780 GTX card as the video card (my understanding is that P3D currently does not officially support 2 video cards).

Thank you very much.

I have one 23" and one 22" that I use.  I use one main monitor for the main virtual cockpit view and one for a right seat view or spot view for approach/landing.  I recently bought a GTX660 2gb card that works very well for me in either FS or P3D.  I will say that I have not gotten P3D to work in multi monitor mode, though, but every indication is that it does - I just haven't found the right set up for it yet - then again, I'm not a huge P3d user yet.

At the price of monitors, there is very little reason not to have at least two.  I would have three, but my wife would have a fit. 

Jeff Callender