Sign in to follow this  
Guest tallpilot

Why isn't de-icing a requirement for clearance?

Guest wathomas777

With the recent crash involving Dick Ebersol and his family a question has been raised in my mind.Please realize that I have no REAL flight experience, so for you RW pilots please keep this in mind before the flaming begins.In the initial reports, an airport spokesman mentioned that it's the pilots decision to deice or not. My question is, not to lay blame at the pilot's feet, but why is deicing not required when certain weather conditions exist?If I drive into the mountains, often I am told to either put on chains or have approved snow tires. These are not "guidelines" but requirements for me to continue to travel down the road. These requirements are in place because without proper traction devices I pose a significant risk to myself, my passengers, and others on the road.Planes are grounded all the time due to inclement weather. Takeoffs and landings are not allowed if certain weather conditions exist (particularly conditions involving limited visibility).Why then, are pilots allowed to decide on their own when "de-icing" is warranted or not? Shouldn't deicing be a required prerequisite for takeoff should the proper weather conditions exist? If the airport does not have de-icing facilities, then shouldn't traffic be grounded unless they have their own deicing methods on the plane?I am not trying to lay the blame at anyones feet. We don't know why the pilot in the recent crash chose not to deice. We don't know if he made a critical error in judgement, or perhaps, bowed to "pressure" from his passengers to not delay departure for de-icing. Or perhaps there was something else mechanically wrong with the plane. We don't know, and may never know the "full story"The simple fact remains, according to preliminary data, icing most likely played a vital role in this crash. And if that is the case, why do we allow planes clearance to depart, if the conditions for ic