Sign in to follow this  
dvlourie

Updating Frequencies in FSX

I have been using FSX for many years and recently starting flying in the real world with a Piper Archer. I have an iPad I use in the plane and also at home connected to my simulator using bluetooth. Real world frequencies are gotten thru Garmin Pilot which is updated frequently and compared to sectional charts quite accurate. So, here is the problem. I believe FSX "hard-coded" the frequencies for many airports and they are not accurate. I know I can just click on ATC and let FSX pick the frequency but since I use Saitek's Radio Panel it would be nice to be able to update the program. I hope I have explained what I am looking for and if anyone has any ideas, I thank you in advance.

Bert, thanks for the response and the great find! But...I am looking for a way to change the coded frequency for AWOS/ATIS in some local airports here in Illinois? For example:

KVYS in the real world uses 120.025 as the ATIS but FSX uses 118.25?? I know I have a large wish list but I am hoping to find a way to update the frequencies in FSX? Any thoughts?

Guest tymk

Unfortunately, there's no easy way to do that "in bulk", as the frequencies are contained in individual AFCAD files that need to be decompiled, modified using a tool like ADE and then recompiled. I've used this method for some of the fields I frequently use, but it's by no means a straighforward process...

Wow!  That sounded great.. until I read "fsAerodata includes the capability to drive and simulate SIDs and STAR procedures with the default GPS units (on Prepar3D only)."

As I'm a FSX only user that limits its usefulness to me.

Bummer

Ernie

Ernest Pergrem

Thanks everyone for the comments. I thought that ADE might work. I will try tomorrow evening. I used ADE to "re-create" KVYS and other area GA airports that I fly to. Thanks again.

That you manually tune and use ATIS/AWOS is very admirable.