Dreamflight767

Deleting & Re-install client

Greetings

When deleting and re-installing P3D's client, what effect does that have on add-ons?  Do I need to reinstall any of them; either aircraft or scenery?

Thank you. 

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

Depends on how you installed them.  If the addons were installed with the addon.xml method, you need to do nothing. If they were installed directly into P3D, you may have to reinstall them.

Do not delete and reinstall the client - you must uninstall and reinstall the client.

Vic

• Upvote 1

Yes, I uninstalled client and reinstalled it.  Not "delete", poor choice of words on my part.

Thank you.

Hello,

if I'm allowed to kidnap this topic...I'm new to P3D! I made the switch only with v4's release. My Q are related to the ones of the OP.

I'm aware of the new XML AddOn structure but some AddOn's will not use it, like those that change ground textures, elevation data, vegetation, clouds, etc. (GEP3D, UTX, ORBX Trees HD, etc).

So what happens to those AddOn's when a new HF or Update comes out which req to uninstall parts of the current P3D installation?

Which part of the installer Client / Content / Scenery is changed by the mentioned AddOn's?

Thank you.

BR,

Gerald

If my memory serves me, from my v3.x experience, Orbx products had to be reinstalled because apparently the textures weren't being shown as they were previously...

Thie is from Lockheed:

"3rd Party Software (Add On's)  after a Client update

Completing a Client Update will mostly effect Utilities like Active Sky Next, Active Sky 2016, FSUIPC, Flight1 GTN 750\650, SODE, Chaseplane, Orbx ObjectFlow and EZdok Just to name a few.

In most cases Software Developers will be releasing Updates to there Programs\Utilities to coincide with the release of a new Client update"

• Upvote 1