Sign in to follow this  
MrBitstFlyer

Tobii EyeTracker 5 advice

I have been using a TrackIR for a few years and been happy with it.  However, I didn't like how it wouldn't work so well in daylight with reflections and window light making it hard to use.  I decided to give Tobii Eyetracker 5 a go as it doesn't suffer in brighter light.  Overall I am happy with the unit and its tracking performance.  It is working well on my narrowboat in bright conditions. However, the view is jerky when looking off center (especially downwards towards the instruments).  I am wondering if this is in response to turbulence that the TrackIR didn't have a problem with.

Any Tobii users had a similiar effect and dealt with it?

Edited by MrBitstFlyer

Intel i9-10900K @ 5.1Ghz,  Nvidia 2080ti 11Gb, 32Gb Ram, Samsung Odyssey G7 HDR 600 27inch Monitor 2560x1440, Windows 11 Home

Mr Bitst, best advice I can give is to play with the settings until you find something that works for you. I have mine usable  but it does suffer from a lack of stability off-center. Another thing that makes slight movements is facial expressions like talking or yawning. You'll be surprised how much it moves with mouth movement. I have retired my TIR-5 since picking it up and I like it. I wish more developers would add native ability within their sims since I find the Tobii Game Hub seems to affect performance more than Tobii Experience. Maybe one day, the Tobii group will figure out how to add deadlines to the ends of movement which will greatly correct its minor flaws. We can only hope. Good Luck and again, play with the settings in MSFS for the Tobii, also Google Tobii and MSFS and there is some pretty good starting points.

• Like 1

Regards,

Pivot

i9-10900k * 64Gb Ram * MSI RTX 4070 Ti Gaming X Trio * Steel Series Arctis Pro Wireless Headset * Win11 Home x64 * Oculus Rift-S * Tobii ET 5 * TM Warthog Combo, Honeycomb Alpha & Saitek Pro-Rudders

51 minutes ago, Pivot said: