Sign in to follow this  
philshaw

Converting from GA VFR to Big Jets IFR

I am sure this has been asked before but cant find anything.I have been flying for many years using single GA aircraft but would like to move up, what plane would you recomend to start learning the bigger stuff?I am using FSX for my VFR flying with the RealAir Scout package.But plan to stick to FS9 for my intro to heavy metal.Any suggestions tips would be welcome.Thanks in advance.Phil

Well good move. Sounds like you already know all about navigation and flying vor's etc so that's good. All you need to train up on is the heavy liner systems and procedures. I recommend firstly downloading some of the good freeware jets from Project Opensky and others, perhaps a 767. Then get familiar with the autopilot and autoflight systems, which generally are the same from bird to bird. Get the hang of how the jet flies, how to generally approach and land, and how to manage climbs and descents, plan fuel etc. Doing this on freeware first will allow you to see if heavy jets are really for you - Basically airliner flight is two periods of heavy workload either side of a long period doing nothing :-)Then after that take the plunge and buy the Level D 767, arguably the best payware jet around. It's mid range size will allow short and long flights. You can do some tutorials to train up on the FMC usage together with the autoflight systems, then you are ready to simulate a real world flight.

Regards,

Max    

(YSSY)

i7-12700K | Corsair PC4-28700 DDR4 32Gb | Gigabyte RTX4090 24Gb | Gigabyte Z690 AORUS ELITE DDR4 | Corsair HX1200 PSU

Guest RonB49