Sign in to follow this  
Yoda967

The NGX Experience

No, no pictures. Sorry. Just a story.Flew from KLAS to KSAN this afternoon. We started from the executive terminal, sitting with the forward passenger door open for some time while I set up the FMC. We had ground power, ground air, and a ground air conditioning unit hooked up, but the door open on a scorching day in Las Vegas made it just plain hot in the forward part of the aircraft. We don't usually think of stuff like that in the sim.It took about ten or twelve minutes to taxi all the way across the field to the departure end of runway 28R, and with the engines running at barely above idle, the hot cabin only got hotter. Sure enough, climbing out, I got a master caution light. A quick scan of the overhead panel and there they were, two orange annunciators: duct overheat.It seems silly to refer to a checklist for this kind of thing. You turn the temperature down, right? But, to be on the safe side, I did refer to the checklist, and yes, that's the fix. Turn the temperature down and monitor the temps to make sure they go down. They did, after a while.Now, I have my NGX Failure Module set up for "Service Based Failures", which gives you mechanical reliability that's based on the actual airplane's Mean Time Between Failures, so I know that things can go wrong at any time. I checked the Failure page on the CDU, and to my surprise, this was not a programmed failure. It's just a normal part of the simulation.See, the temperature at KLAS when we took off was 39oC, so leaving the door open for a long time while we were on the ground didn't help the air conditioning situation in the cabin, and leaving the temperature controls set to AUTO apparently won't cut it during the Las Vegas summer.I'm pretty sure that my passengers were plenty happy to get themselves and their soggy clothes off the plane in San Diego. Next time, I'll make sure I pay closer attention.

Best Regards,

Kurt "Yoda" Kalbfleisch

Pinner, Middx, UK