Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Dillon

Don't know if you guys have seen this one.

That's pretty harrowing.

From the beginning of the video I just felt it looked (i) a hot day, (ii) a low powered airplane, (iii) a very old plane with few if any safety features, (iv) a huge risk flying over terrain (the trees) that provided no escape route opportunities for power/altitude loss.

To me it seemed like poor judgement and high risk taking by the pilot. I have limited experience and this is just an intuitive view of it. The pilot seemed a pretty old guy, so possibly quite a lot of hours and experience, but of course, this can cause complacency.

I'm thinkin' the 3-mile takeoff roll across the flatlands shouldda been a clue...

Bob Scott | AVSIM Forums Administrator | AVSIM Board of Directors

ATP Gulfstream II-III-IV-V

System: i7-8086K @ 5.3GHz on custom water loop, ASUS Maximus XI Hero, 16GB 3600MHz CAS15, eVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra, Samsung 55" JS8500 4K TV@30Hz, 2x1TB Samsung SSD 970Pro NVMe+850 Pro SATA 3, eVGA 1KW PSU

SB XFi Titanium, optical link to Yamaha RX-V467, Polk/Klipsch 6" bookshelf spkrs, Polk 12" subwoofer, 12.9" iPad Pro, PFC yoke/throttle quad/pedals with custom Hall sensors, Coolermaster HAF932 case, Stream Deck XL button box

Saw this last year. Definitely an interesting and a harrowing find, and an interesting perspective on crashes. I've had my fair share of emergencies, but never a full on crash

newsig.png

I'm thinkin' the 3-mile takeoff roll across the flatlands shouldda been a clue...

His wheels were still on the ground after the strip ran out weren't they?

Seemed like it came up for a second and touched down again. Might have been better to hit that creek on the overrun after all.

Dan.W

20.jpg

yeah i have seen that. Its weird how no one reacted when the plane was barely gaining altitude...