Sign in to follow this  
Dillon

Don't know if you guys have seen this one.

I did a little analysis of it last year after it happened:

http://forum.avsim.n...nsity-altitude/

Guess I'm late then on this one... :blush:

FS2020 

Alienware Aurora R11 10th Gen Intel Core i7 10700F - Windows 11 Home 32GB Ram
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4060 Ti 16GB DLSS 3 - HP Reverb G2

That's pretty harrowing.

From the beginning of the video I just felt it looked (i) a hot day, (ii) a low powered airplane, (iii) a very old plane with few if any safety features, (iv) a huge risk flying over terrain (the trees) that provided no escape route opportunities for power/altitude loss.

To me it seemed like poor judgement and high risk taking by the pilot. I have limited experience and this is just an intuitive view of it. The pilot seemed a pretty old guy, so possibly quite a lot of hours and experience, but of course, this can cause complacency.

I'm thinkin' the 3-mile takeoff roll across the flatlands shouldda been a clue...

Bob Scott | President and CEO, AVSIM Inc
ATP Gulfstream II-III-IV-V

System1 (P3Dv5/v4): i9-13900KS @ 6.0GHz, water 2x360mm, ASUS Z790 Hero, 32GB GSkill 7800MHz CAS36, ASUS RTX4090
Samsung 55" JS8500 4K TV@30Hz,
3x 2TB WD SN850X 1x 4TB Crucial P3 M.2 NVME SSD, EVGA 1600T2 PSU, 1.2Gbps internet
Fiber link to Yamaha RX-V467 Home Theater Receiver, Polk/Klipsch 6" bookshelf speakers, Polk 12" subwoofer, 12.9" iPad Pro
PFC yoke/throttle quad/pedals with custom Hall sensor retrofit, Thermaltake View 71 case, Stream Deck XL button box

Sys2 (MSFS/XPlane): i9-10900K @ 5.1GHz, 32GB 3600/15, nVidia RTX4090FE, Alienware AW3821DW 38" 21:9 GSync, EVGA 1000P2
Thrustmaster TCA Boeing Yoke, TCA Airbus Sidestick, 2x TCA Airbus Throttle quads, PFC Cirrus Pedals, Coolermaster HAF932 case

Portable Sys3 (P3Dv4/FSX/DCS): i9-9900K @ 5.0 Ghz, Noctua NH-D15, 32GB 3200/16, EVGA RTX3090, Dell S2417DG 24" GSync