Sign in to follow this  
Eikthrynir

Which PMDG aircraft to choose as beginner

Hello!

I am an absolute beginner regarding the MS Flight Simulator and the PMDG products. I would like to purchase one of the PMDG aircraft. I'm interested in MD-11, 747, 737 and 777 at the moment.

The problem is that I cannot decide which one to choose. Which one (from those listed above) would be more suitable to begin with? What I would like to do is to begin flying the (let's say) "easiest" to maneuver, the one with less engine power, and things like that. And then progress to the next one, bigger, more engine power etc. Something like a "career mode".

Could anyone give a few hints? (like "Hey, start with 737-600, then 737-700 etc. then 777, then 747, then MD-11", for example).

Thanks in advance!

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

None of these are beginner aircrafts but I'd start with the 777 since its more automated and with the service pack that just got released its much better and a joy to fly. Which ever once you decided to get just know that these are study planes so you will need to put some time in to learn the systems but it is well worth it in the end.

Good luck

Pierre W

And then progress to the next one, bigger, more engine power etc. Something like a "career mode".

Unfortunately, the industry is rather backward in this regard. The bigger jets tend to be more technically advanced and easier to fly than a lot of the small stuff.

So, do you want easy, or do you want a more realistic career mode?

If you want easy, like Pierre, I'd recommend the 777.  It's very highly automated, but gets you exposed to managing different systems, an FMS, and a more realistic autopilot.

If you want career progression, start with the JS4100 or 737 (airlines generally don't make a big deal about progression between the 600/700/800/900 - it may be implicit, though, based on available routes, and how other pilots bid, though).