Sign in to follow this  
MikeyOnTheFlightDeck

VATSIM vs IVAO

I’m looking to,fly with ATC and wondered what the preferred option is when integrating with MSFS? Is one more busier than the other?. I appreciate VATSIM has the steeper learning curve and less tolerance to rookies. 

I have very little experience with IVAO, but from what I’ve heard, it’s more catered toward European fliers, whereas VATSIM has the larger North American hub. Although Europe is very popular on VATSIM as well... VATSIM seems to be a bit more popular than IVAO as well (700 pilots on IVAO right now vs 900 on VATSIM).

I don’t know anyone that flies on IVAO here in the US though. All of my friends fly on VATSIM.

Edited by FlyingInACessna

Both aim to provide realistic ATC on a multiplayer server so the differences are somewhat nuanced; IVAO traditionally had more integrated software and is generally more centralised whereas VATSIM was more open to third party provision of tools (pilot clients, radar clients etc) and more regionalised management and policies.

These days the biggest difference is ATC coverage, for example: North America, United Kingdom, Germany, Northern Europe tend to be much better served on VATSIM, whereas IVAO has a strong hold on France and Italy (Spain was kind've on a par). The other thing is that VATSIM tends to be a bit stricter with their controllers, you get great quality ATC but if you want to control it takes a long time to climb the ranks. IVAO had much better pilot software for a long time imo, but VATSIM has caught up in that regard.

https://www.avsim.com/forums/topic/578695-vatsim-partnership-confirmed/?tab=comments#comment-4276015

Edited by ckyliu

ckyliu, proud supporter of ViaIntercity.com. i5 12400F, 32GB, GTX980, more in "About me" on my profile. 

support1.jpg

On 9/7/2020 at 10:17 PM, FlyingInACessna said: