Sign in to follow this  
voodoo101

Looking to jump from the FSX ship

So I've been using FSX for many years moving from FS9, but after many addons later I moved to triple screen gaming. Now even though I have tweaked and tweaked my i7 processor is beginning to creak and my display looks like somebodys flicking pages in a book, instead of the nice smooth flight it should be. I am a bit loathed to shell out more money to buy a new machine that will run FSX smooth and be over the top for everything else. Now that there is finally a 64 bit flight sim I am thinking of spending the money it would cost on a new computer on this and addons.

My problem is this. After these years of flying in high quality addon aircraft over photo real scenery and recognising local areas, landing in airports that look like the real thing and being surrounded by aircraft that should be realistically be there, I don't want to go back to feeling like FSX with no addons flying default aircraft with basic texture and only half the buttons working.

So my question is how much of addon scenery, airports, aircraft, ai and weather are there and are they the quality of the likes of Aerosoft, OrbX, PMDG and the like?

There is nothing to keep you from flying both (yes, on the same machine) until you can see for yourself.  X-Plane 10 even has a free trial version.

John

John Wingold

Yes that's right I ended the FS vs XP conflict long ago by enjoying both sims on one PC and you know what? It is great!

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD

Alexander Colka

I also have both sims on one machine.

FSX looks good, but I have to keep from using anything that is demanding on it, or I'll get OOMs.  I can use a complex aircraft, but no AI traffic or other enhancements. 

X-Plane 10-64 is looking very good and never an OOM, no matter what my settings are.