Sign in to follow this  
michaelth

Eurocontrol Descent Rates

Hi all,

if you look up the Eurocontrol site for the descent rates of a B737-800, you will find:

1. initial descent to FL240: 800fpm / MACH 0.78

2. descent to FL100: 3500fpm / IAS 280kt

3. approach: 1500fpm / IAS 250kt

https://contentzone.eurocontrol.int/aircraftperformance/details.aspx?ICAO=B738

Do you think these are realistic data?

Regards,

Michael

Michael Thesen

MSFS, HP Reverb G2, Gigabyte B760 32Gb, Samsung 970 EVO, Geforce RTX 4070-TI, Win11, i7-14700KF, Thrustmaster T16000M, Saitek Pro Flight Rudder Pedals

Hey,

Well 800 fpm means a slower descent hence more fuel burn. I usually descend within the range of 1500-2000 depending on airspace congestion etc. Never gotten any complaints from any ATSU on my descent over the years.

Anders

Edited by andyque

P3D v4.2

Intel 4770k @ 4,8 ghz

GTX 1060 6gb

As a pilot, I would ignore that web page assuming it is some kind of controller familiarization sheet done by non-pilots.  An 800 fpm descent at M.78 is basically a cruise descent and is not something the FMS will give you in normal VNAV use.  I challenge you to keep the speed below 280 KIAS descending at 3500 fpm between FL240-100... that is an insanely high descent rate in the thicker air below FL240 and I suspect even with speedbrakes you might not see 280 KIAS.  Finally, on what planet are approaches flown at 1500 fpm???  A normal approach descent is 3 deg or 318 ft/nm which is usually around 800 fpm at approach speeds.

Dan Downs KCRP

6 hours ago, michaelth said:

Do you think these are realistic data?

Note the source: Eurocontol.

Eurocontrol is ATC.

It's an ATC traffic management assumptions form. It's only there to get a basic idea of how to set up your traffic management calculations.

Ignore. Not meant for you as a pilot (and even as a controller, it's pretty basic).

Kyle Rodgers

1 hour ago, scandinavian13 said:

Note the source: Eurocontol.

Eurocontrol is ATC.