Sign in to follow this  

SIDs and STARs useless?

Hello,

I have been flying PMDG aircrafts for 3 months now and I have noticed something strange with my SIDs and STARs.

In my flightplan I do mention which SID and STAR I am using but every time the controller (vatsim) gives me a specific heading while I have a perfect departure or approach in my FMC.

This gives me a feeling that SIDs and STARs are actually useless.

Am I doing something wrong or do more people experience this?

Best regards,

Collin Meerman

This is to a large extent working as intended. SID and STAR stand for *standard* instrument departure, and *standard* terminal arrival. The key word there being: *standard*. These work perfectly well for controlling the traffic flow and control in the real world, since there are multiple controllers that you interact in a space of a 50-100 nautical miles that SID/STAR often cover. For example of where I fly in Northern California, taking off from San Jose International, going to Las Vegas, you would speak to at least 4 controllers before you reach 1000ft of altitude. By the time you are done with the SID, you are likely to interact with at least 3-4 more (3x NorCal, 1xCenter). Handing off "some weird" procedure between this many controllers, and maintaining steady uninterrupted flow of aircraft is simply not scalable.

However, on VATSIM, flying the same route, you may interact with 2 controllers (for example Oakland Center, Los Angeles Center). Those two are handling usually less than a 20 aircraft each. In those circumstances, and to not make the experience *utterly boring* for everyone, controllers usually vector aircraft a little more.

So, having that in mind, when you are given the initial clearance, you can always say something along the lines of: "Nxxxx would like to practice flying the filed SID, if able". Or even better put "SID/STAR strongly preferred" in your flight plan.