Sign in to follow this  
Haza

Iv just noticed a very cool thing on the 777

So set the scene, just arrived at EGNT from CYVR with ATIS saying 220 @ 21knts.... landed fine, all hydraulic panel shut down, etc checklist complete, time for a coffee.

So walk around the aircraft to see GSX @ work too notice the rudder moving on its own accord with the wind, how realistic is that! I had a look at the wind sock and the rudder and windsock were moving together.... I made sure it was nothing to do with me or my yoke.

Its little features (I am hoping it is and not a bug) that makes the 777 so brilliantly realistic! Thank you very much PMDG. Little things like this gets me going and I'm a real pilot.

Sorry if this has been brought up but go have a look!

Regards,

H

I doubt this is modeled since it would take a pretty strong wind to start moving the rudder, certainly something higher than 20 kts since the rudder a heavy piece of kit.

But interesting observation. 

I doubt this is modeled since it would take a pretty strong wind to start moving the rudder, certainly something higher than 20 kts since the rudder a heavy piece of kit.

That was my opinion too at first.

yep i noticed it long time ago, its cool. when you turn the hydraulics off, flaperons and aelierons also fall. these are all good but the bug is the elevators, they dont go down, dont know why.

Doesn't take too much to move, think about the surface area of the rudder.

Tom

"I just wanna tell you both: good luck. We're all counting on you."

Pretty much every major addon going back to FS9 does this. Real world it takes very little wind to move the rudder without hydraulic pressure, same with the fan blades, a light breeze will get them spinning.

Anyway I agree, those nice touches add that extra realism to the sim world.