HiFlyer

[REAL ATC] Several aircraft witness a UFO OVER IRELAND

LOLZ 😃

• Like 2

Help AVSIM continue to serve you!
Please donate today!

"Appeared to be multiple objects following the same sort of trajectory, and very bright where we were."

"Banked over to the right and then climbed away at speed from our perspective."

I'm an amateur astronomer (at least in a previous life when I lived under less cloudy skies!). That's a classic description of a "bolide," a meteor that breaks up on entry to the atmosphere. Sometimes they can skip off the atmosphere, which might explain that last report of change in flight path, but I think it's more likely just a trick of perspective. Maybe distortion through the cockpit windscreen.

Bright meteors -- especially the more spectacular bright fragmenting bolides -- are far more common than most people realize, except for those living in dark sky areas of the planet. Or airline pilots.

• Upvote 1

I think it was swamp gas from a weather balloon that was trapped in a thermal pocket and reflected the light from Venus.

• Like 1

After watching many UFO documentaries, I've always been curious as to why, after travelling halfway across the Universe and probably through countless wormholes, bending the fabric of time etc, do they have to switch on lights when they arrive on this planet? 😂

• Like 6
  • Upvote 1

30 minutes ago, Paraffin said:

"Appeared to be multiple objects following the same sort of trajectory, and very bright where we were."

"Banked over to the right and then climbed away at speed from our perspective."

I'm an amateur astronomer (at least in a previous life when I lived under less cloudy skies!). That's a classic description of a "bolide," a meteor that breaks up on entry to the atmosphere. Sometimes they can skip off the atmosphere, which might explain that last report of change in flight path, but I think it's more likely just a trick of perspective. Maybe distortion through the cockpit windscreen.