Sign in to follow this  
MarkW

Flight1 GTN or RealityXP ?

I am kind of new to this type of avionics, having spent most of my flight sim time with the big jets.  I recently decided to buy some of the ORBX regions and I am thinking about upgrading the avionics in some of my payware/freeware GA aircraft.  Looking for a recommendation from the GA crowd as to which way to go with these GPS addons.  Also, I am confused as to whether I need two of them or just one ?

Mark W   CYYZ      

My Simhttps://goo.gl/photos/oic45LSoaHKEgU8E9

My Concorde Tutorial Videos available here:  https://www.youtube.com/user/UPS1000

Hi Mark,

Definitely the Flight1 GTN, it's much more advanced, has many more features like integrated maps, TAWS (Terrain Awareness and Warning System), fuel and v-calc, and when combined with the RealAir Duke Turbine, it gives you a pretty much unbeatable GA package. The RealityXP gauge is ages old, the data is very outdated, and it has no developer support. The Flight1 GTN has full support in their forums.

Cheers,

Jerome

I have both.  Also to consider...

• while you do have to buy the FSX and P3D versions of the Flight1 GTN separately, you can at least use it in P3D.  The RXP units don't have a P3D version. 
  • The terrain data with the GTN units is US only, so if you fly outside of the US, that could be a problem.  Some folks have looked into getting an expanded database that has data outside the US but I'm not aware of anyone who has that working.  Maybe they do, but I'm not aware of it.

Gregg Seipp

"A good landing is when you can walk away from the airplane.  A great landing is when you can reuse it."
i7-8700 32GB Ram, GTX-1070 8 Gig RAM