Sign in to follow this  
MrBitstFlyer

Tobii Eye Tracker

I've read a few older threads about this, but wondered what the latest thoughts are.

I have been using TrackIR for a couple of years, but I often find it doesn't work at various points during the day due to sunlight.  I live on a narrowboat so sunlight gets in from portholes on the sides as well as from the front and back.  Even if I cover the portholes in front of and behind the PC, the sunlight can often stop the TrackIR working correctly (can't expect my wife to sit in the dark!).  I have read the Tobii Eyetracker does not suffer as much from external light.  Apart from working in brighter conditions, does the eye tracking feature give any extra immersion over the TrackIR in MSFS?

Intel i9-10900K @ 5.1Ghz,  Nvidia 2080ti 11Gb, 32Gb Ram, Samsung Odyssey G7 HDR 600 27inch Monitor 2560x1440, Windows 11 Home

I love it.  I had track IR and unless I had all blinds closed, it wouldn't work well for me.  I have had no issues with Tobii. Highly recommend!

• Like 1

1 hour ago, MrBitstFlyer said:

Apart from working in brighter conditions, does the eye tracking feature give any extra immersion over the TrackIR in MSFS?

No.

• Like 1

MarkH

gGzCVFp.jpg
Core i7-7700K / 32Gb DDR4 / Gigabyte GTX1070 / 1080p x 3 x weird / Win7 64 Pro

I'll probably get it.  Thing I didn't like about track IR is you had to move your head which I rarely did.

sp

• Like 1

AimxyZ, as an alternative?

This is a YT vid on the product.

MSI Pro Z690-A DDR4 | i5 13600KF | G.Skill Ripjaws V 32GB 3600MHz | ASUS TUF RTX 3080 (12GB) | Samsung 980 M.2 NVMe 500GB | Samsung 980 M.2 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850EVO 500GB | 2TB Seagate HDD | Deepcool AK500 CPU Cooler | Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS | CH Yoke | Win 11 22H2 build | MSFS2020 |

Tony K.

Mine will be here tomorrow. Got $50 off because of Amazon Prime Day. I'll see how it stacks up against Track IR.

• Like 1

NAX669.png