Sign in to follow this  
~Craig~

I think I am the happiest man on the planet today :)

Warning:  this is a happy, excited simmer thread, at the levels of Sesquatoo's !!   Look away if you don't have a sick bucket to hand!!

(only kidding Mitch) :smile:

I've been using a ATI/AMD HD 7850 2GB with FSX for a couple of years, and from the outset, found it an underwhelming, poor card.    But I had no budget to upgrade, or get back in to the nVidia game.

Suddenly this week, I was offered a nVidia GTX 670 2GB from a friend, at a price too good to miss.  I know this is a very average card by today's standards, but you've got to understand just how bad things were with FSX with the AMD card, to understand the experience I've had tonight.

With the 7850, all airliner flying whether in the NGX, Airbus A320, etc, all had to be done with autogen at Sparse. It's been like that for so long.   Even with GA, Carenado aircraft etc, and in Orbx sceneries, Autogen at Normal was the highest I could ever go ..... because I use TrackIR, and as any TIR user will tell you, you need at least 28-30 FPS because of the head movements affecting the rendered view.

I did not have high expectations moving to the GTX 670 2GB but what I have done for the last few days is gather every bit of info I could (90% of it from AVSIM), on how to best set up the new card.   I downloaded the latest drivers and nVidia Inspector (an amazing tool).  I set everything up so carefully.  I went for a full fresh re-install of FSX (to ensure new shaders etc as well as the fresh FSX.CFG).. I tweaked the fsx.cfg conservatively but in the key areas that were recommended.