Sign in to follow this  
rlaycock

Recomended weather Engine for P3D V4.5 or V5?

Hi all

I have been using FSX and P3D for many years however I never bothered with live weather.

I would like to give it a try.  I have Rex SkyForce 3D installed (also for several years) as I enjoy what it does to the clouds etc.  However I never tried the weather engine. 

I gave it a try the other day and to my horror it stopped P3D V4.5 form working at all

I had to reinstall P3D V4.5 to get it working again. To test my theory I again turned the weather engine in Rex SkyForce 3D on, with the same result (P3D V4.5 crashing to desktop after it tries to load a flight).

So after a 2nd full reinstall of P3D V4.5 as you can imagine I will not turn the weather engine on again.

However I would like to try live weather, so any recommendations for a SAFE weather engine ?

I am not bothered by the cloud shape and textures as I am happy with the REX SkyForce 3D cloud shape and textures.

Thanks in advance if you have any suggestions recommendations.

Best wishes.

Bob

Just now, rlaycock said:

However I would like to try live weather, so any recommendations for a SAFE weather engine

active sky

https://hifisimtech.com/asp3d/

• Like 5
  • Upvote 4

I7-800k,Corsair h1101 cooler ,Asus Strix Gaming Intel Z370 S11 motherboard, Corsair 32gb ramDD4,    2  ssd 500gb 970 drive, gtx 1080ti Card,  RM850 power supply

Peter kelberg

Agreed, Active Sky is the best and most important. 

Gigabyte x670 Aorus Elite AX MB; AMD 7800X3D CPU; Deepcool LT520 AIO Cooler; 64 Gb G.Skill Trident Z5 NEO DDR5 6000; Win11 Pro; P3D V5.4; 1 Samsung 990 2Tb NVMe SSD: 1 Crucial 4Tb MX500 SATA SSD; 1 Samsung 860 1Tb SSD; Gigabyte Aorus Extreme 1080ti 11Gb VRAM; Toshiba 43" LED TV @ 4k; Honeycomb Bravo.

+1 for Active Sky ASP3D.

When I was running P3Dv4.5, I was using Rex Skyforce only for the cloud textures, but ASP3D was generating the live weather in the sim. This was pretty stable for me.

Spoiler